Research Policy Committee

The Research Policy Committee (RPC) provides funding allocation recommendations to the Parkinson Canada Board of Directors. The RPC also advises the Board on policies about the most effective means to promote research into the cause(s), management and eventual cure of Parkinson’s disease.

The Research Policy Committee (RPC) and Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) are two separate volunteer committees. The chair of the SAB also serves on the RPC to ensure continuity.

  • Dr. Pierre J. Blanchet, Chair, RPC; Neurologist, André-Barbeau Movement Disorders Unit, Hôpital Notre-Dame du CHUM, Montreal
  • Dr. Ron Postuma, Chair, SAB; Associate Professor of Neurology and Neurosurgery, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University; Staff neurologist, Montreal General Hospital, Researcher at the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) and at Sacré Coeur Hospital
  • Dr. Wendy Horbay, Vice-Chair, Independent Heath Related Strategic Planning Consultant
  • Dr. Daniel Levesque, Professor, Faculté de Pharmacie, Université de Montréal
  • Dr. Julie Nantel, Associate professor, Faculty of Health Sciences, School of Human Kinetics, University of Ottawa
  • Mr. Sprague Plato, President, Parkinson Society Eastern Ontario Board of Directors
  • Dr. Angela Roberts, Speech Language Pathologist, Endowed Fellow in Care of the Aging, Lawson Health Research Institutes
  • Ms. Sharon Yardley, Clinical Co-ordinator, Nurse Educator Pacific Parkinson’s Research Centre Vancouver Coastal Health – UBC site