Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal Recipients

A new commemorative medal was created to mark the 2012 celebrations of the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada. The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal is a tangible way for Canada to honour Her Majesty for her service to this country. At the same time, it serves to honour significant contributions and achievements by Canadians.

Parkinson Canada is grateful to those individuals who took the initiative and time to recognize their Parkinson's colleagues and friends with a nomination for this prestigious award. We are pleased to acknowledge the following Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal recipients who have been honoured for their work and service in the field of Parkinson's disease:


Shakeel Akhtar

Dr. Quincy Almeida

Connie Birmingham

Laura Block

Henry Block

Elaine Conner

Doug Darling

Randy Dittmar

Nora Fischer

David Giesbrecht

Betty Giesbrecht

Margot Greenberg

Mary Lou Grieves

Dr. David Grimes

Ruth Hall-MacMillan

William Heinmiller

Vivian Heinmiller

Bruce Ireland

Kelly Jablonsk

Dr. Mary Jenkins

Dr. Mandar Jog

Carol Kraft

Nancy Kuipers

Walter Lawlor

Norm Levac

David Lipson

James Long

Chris Maciejowski

Marie MacKey

Helen Mak

Floyd Manz

Else Manz (posthumous)

Doug Martens

Robert McNutt

Marg Miekle

Wendy Olinger

John Parkhurst

Marc Pittet

Mark Pridgeon

Jane Radke

Linda Jean Remmer

Angela Roberts-South

Audrey Robinson

AB Rustin

Norma Sapsworth

Meredith Saunderson

John Scott

David Simmonds

Sharon Simms

Fran Squire

Guy Steed

Dr. Dwight Stewart

Bruce Strachan

Neil Tenney

Yvon Trepanier

Don Turner

Marg Turner

Isabel Ward

Gail Weiler

Cory Welsh