Our Board

Parkinson Canada is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. Board members represent a cross-section of industries, geographies, experiences and skills. We acknowledge the leadership and contributions of the following Officers and Directors:


Judi Richardson, British Columbia, Chair
Marlin Stangeland, Saskatchewan, Vice-Chair
Hassan Pirnia, Ontario, Treasurer



Daphne FitzGerald, Ontario
Julie Cafley, Quebec
Laura Edgar, Ontario
Lindsay Abbey, Ontario
Margaret Hanlon-Bell, Ontario
Michael Rothe, Ontario
Wendy Horbay, Ontario
Veeral Khatri, Ontario
Nancy MacCready-Williams, Nova Scotia
Marc Pittet, Manitoba
Sprague Plato, Ontario

Research Policy Committee
Dr. Pierre J. Blanchet, Chair
Dr. Edward (Ted) Fon
Dr. Mark Guttman
Dr. Douglas Hobson
Dr. Wendy Horbay
Dr. Anne-Louise Lafontaine
Dr. Daniel Levesque
Dr. Ron Postuma
Mr. Sprague Plato
Dr. Angela Roberts
Ms. Nancy MacCready-Williams
Ms. Sharon Yardley

Scientific Advisory Board
The annual research program application review process is undertaken by Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) of Parkinson Canada. This volunteer, arms-length panel of experts is composed of some of the most prominent and respected physicians in the neurosciences field from across Canada. These neurologists, neurosurgeons, neuropathologists and neuroscientists, assisted by external reviewers as needed, employ a proven, multidisciplinary peer-review system in their annual review of applications, which provides for the highest quality of objective adjudication. Click here for more information about our Scientific Advisory Board.